Department of Physics

  • Postal addressShow on map

    Royal Holloway, University of London Egham Hill, Egham Surrey

    TW20 0EX

    United Kingdom

Organisation profile

Organisation profile

The Physics Department is one of the major centres for teaching and research in Physics in the University of London. 

The research programme is focussed into a number of 'research themes' and ranges from fundamental studies of the properties of matter to advanced applications of physics. Research is carried out in modern laboratories in the Department and at major European laboratories such as CERNISIS and DIAMOND, and through collaborations with other departments, facilities and institutions in the UK and across the world.

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. Our work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being
  • SDG 5 - Gender Equality
  • SDG 7 - Affordable and Clean Energy
  • SDG 14 - Life Below Water
  • SDG 15 - Life on Land
  • SDG 16 - Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or