Ms Susanna Jones

Personal profile

Susanna Jones graduated in Drama/Theatre Studies from Royal Holloway College in 1988. She subsequently worked abroad, in Japan and Turkey, as an English teacher and radio script editor. In 1996 she studied for an MA in Novel Writing at the University of Manchester. She was lecturer in Fiction Writing at the University of Exeter from 2003-5.

Susanna is the author of four novels, ‘The Earthquake Bird’ (2001), ‘Water Lily’ (2003), ‘The Missing Person’s Guide to Love’ (2007) and 'When Nights Were Cold' (Mantle, 2012). She edited ‘The Illustrated Brighton Moment’ (2008) and has also published short stories, articles and book reviews for publications including BBC Radio 4, The Guardian, The New Statesman, The Observer and Literary Review. Her writing has been translated into twenty languages and won several awards: The CWA John Creasey Dagger (2001), John Llewellyn Rhys Prize (2001), Betty Trask Award (2002), Book of the Year (for the Hungarian edition, 2004).

'When Nights Were Cold' was selected for Fiction Uncovered 2012, a major promotion to uncover the best of British fiction. She is currently working on short stories and her fifth novel.

Jones's fourth novel is an atmospheric, beautifully controlled account of intense female friendship and ambition. And it's also a gripping psychological thriller – the missing link, were one ever inclined to hunt for it, between Rosamund Lehmann's 'Dusty Answer' and Joe Simpson's 'Touching the Void'. Guardian

She teaches on the Creative Writing MA and supervises practice-based PhDs.

View all (6) »

View all (21) »

View all (5) »

ID: 8451