Who was Röllig? - Röllig and the Sing-Akademie collection

Nigel Springthorpe

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

62 Downloads (Pure)


Johann Georg Röllig (1710-1790), organist and chamber musician at Zerbst from 1737, rose to become vice-Kapellmeister and then, on the death of Johan Friedrich Fasch in 1758, the last Kapellmeister at the court, responsible for the provision of all liturgical and celebratory music in the court. In addition to many oratorio Passions, cantatas, and other liturgical music, Röllig composed birthday cantatas, symphonies and concertos for the court, some of which are listed in the Concert-Stube of 1743. However, the extent of his output is now uncertain following the discovery of a large corpus of material by Roellig junior in the Singakademie Library, bringing into question the authorship of works previously thought to be by Johann Georg Röllig. This paper examines the evidence to suggest that Roellig junior was not J.G Röllig, but possibly Christian August Röllig, Hofkantor in Dresden between 1728 and 1765 or Johann Christian Roellig.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationFasch-Studien 10: Musik an der Zerbster Residenz : Bericht über die Internationale Wissenschaftliche Konferenz vom 10. bis 12. April 2008 im Rahmen der 10. Internationalen Fasch-Festtage in Zerbst
Place of PublicationBeeskow
PublisherOrtus Musikverlag
Number of pages25
ISBN (Print)978-3-937788-17-3
Publication statusPublished - 2008


  • Roellig
  • Zerbst
  • Sing-Akademie, Berlin
  • Klipfel
  • Partita
  • Dresden
  • Hamburg
  • Ackermann
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian
  • Leipzig

Cite this