Étienne Nicolas Méhul: Symphonies No. 3, No. 4, No. 5

David Charlton (Editor), Anthony Caston (Editor)

Research output: Other contribution


These scores, the first ever publications of Méhul's final symphonic works, result from the editor's discovery of the manuscript orchestra parts of Symphonies 3 in C and 4 in E in the library of the Orchestre de Paris. (They have since been transferred to the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.) The only surviving score, of the Fifth (unfinished) Symphony in A, is preserved in the Vienna National Library. The scholarly introductions present new evidence concerning composition and first performances, a section on performance practice, and a bibliography. Being single-source editions presented within a larger series, no extensive critical apparatus was included, but editorial remarks on method are included. The score of Symphony 3 was co-edited by Anthony Caston, who also wrote out this score.
Original languageEnglish
TypeScholarly edition
Media of outputPrint
PublisherPendragon Press
Place of PublicationNew York
ISBN (Print)0824038126
Publication statusPublished - 1982

Publication series

NameThe Symphony 1720-1840 edited by Barry S. Brook
PublisherPendragon Press
No.Volume 8
VolumeSeries D


  • Méhul, symphony, Paris

Cite this